6:00 PM

Map Quest link
Where We Meet
Brian's Steak House
625 East Atlantic Street
South Hill, VA 23970


Each year the South Hill Rotary Club partners with Park View Middle School in a 4-Way Test Essay Contest designed to teach and inspire 7th grade students with this 4 part ethical guideline. The faculty at the school along with the Club Chair Tommy Zincone present the program to the 7th grade students at a special assembly. Each member of the class submits their essay to the faculty and the selection process begins. Teachers and other staff members read and rate the submitted essays and select the ones they wish to pass on to the Rotary Club. Each year the committee members often read more than 50 essays and select from them the top 3. 

The 3 students with the top essays are invited along with their parents and the school staff involved to the Clubs regular meeting. The students are asked to read their essays to the club. The winners are presented with a plaque, a 4-Way Test coin and their checks. Top prize is $150.00, Second Place is $100.00 and Third Place is $50.00.Later when possible at the school awards day, the winners are recognized.

2016-2017 Winners

Pictured left to right - Language Arts teachers  Angela Davis and Rebecca Cobb Principal Nancy Riddell, Essay Committee member Lisa Clary, second place winner Katherine Parshall, First Place winner Miranda Ellis, Superintendent  Paul Nichols and Club President Randy Cash. Not pictured: third place winner India Tucker and committee members Tommy Zincone and Paula Wood.

1st Place: Miranda Ellis

2nd Place: Katherine Parshall

3rd Place: India Tucker

The 3 Essay winners were to attend the Rotary meeting on 04/20/2017 along with family members, teachers, school principal and special guest Superintendent Paul Nichols. 2 student presented their essay to the members. Sadly one student was unable to attend but will be offered an opportunity at a later date.

These students will be recognized at their "School Awards Day" on TBD.

As always our congratulations to all these students. The top 3 winning essays are provided above.: 

 2015 - 2016 Winners:

Pictured from left to right committee member Frank Nanney, committee chair Tommy Zincone, Luke Richey, Emma Jones, Ariana Mannino, committee members Paula Wood and Lisa Clary.

First Place Emma Jones

Second Place Luke Richey

Third Place Ariana Mannino

Honorable Mentions:

Hagan Vaughan
Chantel Gates
Ramya Singleton






CLUB Events